Skip to content

Fantasy Hockey Draft Recap

October 5, 2011

I’m still fairly new to fantasy hockey and hockey in general, but I’m getting the hang of things. We had our second annual fantasy hockey draft the other night and I feel pretty confident in the team I assembled. I went into the draft looking for two things:

  • Secure a bunch of high-scoring, high-point guys on offense
  • Secure two stud goalies

Last year in my first venture into fantasy hockey I really had no idea what I was doing and ended up taking bad goalies who weren’t even their team’s best options and spending early-round picks on defensemen and guys who weren’t all that good.

After spending my first 12 picks on offense and goalies I took four defensemen in a row, which was my plan all along. I then selected two wingers with upside.

My first pick was Steven Stamkos, who has back-to-back years of 90+ points. I picked third and was just going to pick whomever was left between Stamkos, Alex Ovechkin and Daniel Sedin, so I was happy with my Stamkos pick. I think another 90+ points are in the bag this year, and 100 might not be out of the question.

Brad Richards was my next pick, and I was also happy I got him. He’s one of the best offensive players in the game, and by playing on the same line with Marian Gaborik in New York he could top 50 assists and 80 points this year.

I went all-in with the San Jose Sharks this year, selecting Patrick Marleau in the third round, Joe Pavelski in the eighth round and Ryan Clowe in the ninth round. Marleau has put up almost a point-per-game the last six years, including 37 points in 32 second-half games last year. He’s on the first line with Pavelski and super center Joe Thornton this year and should put up almost a point-per-game again.

Pavelski put up a career-high in assists last year with 46, and has had three straight years of 50 or more points. He also had 282 shots on goal last year, a career-high, and is projected for 67 points and 291 shots on goal by ESPN.

Clowe’s coming off a career year last year and will team with Logan Couture and Martin Havlat on the Sharks’ second line. He should easily match last year’s numbers.

I was targeting goalies in the fourth and sixth rounds in this draft, and I succeeded in my plan. I landed Marc Andre Fleury and Jimmy Howard as my netminders, which isn’t bad considering both are on very good teams and combined for 73 wins last year. Fleury had a couple bad months last year that bogged down his save percentage and goals against but he had four stellar months.

Howard regressed in his second year as the No. 1 goalie in Detroit, but his total numbers were still very solid. His numbers should improve in his third full season.

I got what I think is the steal of the draft in the fifth round, landing Rick Nash who put up his fourth straight 66+ point season last year. He put up a ridiculous 305 shots on goal last year, and the Columbus offense will be much better this year. He could push 80 points.

In the seventh round I landed Vinnie LeCavalier, Tampa Bay’s third best player. In a down year last year Vinnie still put up point-per-game totals equal to his last two seasons. If he’s fully healthy and plays 75+ games, in that potent Tampa offense, he could approach 80 points.

For the rest of the draft I went with high upside offensive players and reliable defensemen, landing Jamie Benn and Jarret Stoll, both of whom put up over 40 points last year, with Benn settling at 56. The rest of my bench goes like this: Devin Setoguchi, James van Riemsdyk and Tuomo Ruutu. Seto and JVR each scored 40 or more points last year, and Ruutu almost eclipsed the 60-point mark, also adding 309 hits.

On defense I went with a lot of guys who will hopefully get a positive +/-, land plenty of hits and block plenty of shots. Kevin Bieksa, Dan Girardi, Dennis Seidenberg and Roman Hamrlik.  Those guys fit the look I was aiming for. All are on good teams and will be playing with good players, so they should have a good chance at a good +/- and lots of assists.

I have a good feeling about my team, but who knows I could finish in ninth place this year. We’ll just have to see. I’ve got a good mix of veterans and youngsters, all of whom can put up plenty of points and shots on goal. My goalies are both young,on good teams and should see plenty of wins and post positive stats. I’m just ready for the season to start and really fully immerse myself in hockey.

 

From → Odds & Ends

One Comment
  1. At the risk of sounding like a fifteen year old girl…I LOVED this one. Nice work son.

Leave a Reply

